Aussie Apollo Himalaya - some tubes chromoly!

Course_Out

Retro Newbie
Hello fellow retro riders!

Only just joined the forum, stumbling across it while googling old school MTB's. Although I am only new to mountain biking, I have been involved with BMX since the 90's and have an affinity for the clean lines of the older style bikes.

After a lay off of a couple of years I got into mountain biking, riding new hardtail bikes and having a lot of fun. However I found I was getting a bit bored of my local trails, so built a single speed full rigid Diamondback. I can't find a pic currently, but it was no thing of beauty, and way too tall for me. Still loving the retro style I tried my hand at building a cheap "clunker" out of an Apollo beach cruiser (no idea of the age)

From this:

To this:

Using spares from the shed mainly. Rode quite well, but the flex under power was pretty scary so I sold it on. The search was on for a new project, with gumtree and ebay coping a hiding, as always.

An Apollo Himalaya turned up on gumtree about 2 hours drive away. After some back and forth with the unhelpful advertiser I discovered I was going to be in the vicinity anyway, so I decided to go have a look. Advertised at $120, my wife and I went to a rather shady looking unit block where an eastern European gentleman and his daughter met us. After some haggling, some good natured jibes and a few laughs what seemed like a really sketchy situation turned into me walking away with the bike for $90. My wife, as ever, was greatly amused by my poker face bargaining skills, and my ability to make every buying expedition an adventure into absurdity!

So enough rabble, what the hell did I buy? Well...

(excuse my corgi trying to hog the limelight)

Bit rustier than I thought...

Biopace chainwheels!