Edward Warner - Colliers Wood - some information?

clhristopher

Retro Newbie
Hi all,

I was wondering if any of you could tell me more about this bike as i'm not familiar. I believe it was hand built local to me in Colliers Wood, not sure which year.

Also what should I do with it? It needs new wheels as the spokes need replacing and the seat.

Thank you in advance!

9tRjYaWh.jpg

zLlimqTh.jpg

I4BoMGMh.jpg

V7Kwg7ih.jpg

I recall that STD numbers were introduced in London in the mid-1960s. I was a student in London in 1967, and STD numbers were well established by then, and the old numbers only appeared where some small businesses were still using up some old stationary, etc. So the Edward Warner would probably have been built later than 1965-6 or so. A frame number may pin the date down better, assuming someone knows how to interpret it.

It does look a lot like a 60's frame, but late 60's. A few things on there aren't 60's though - those centre pull Weinmanns are a late 70's component, the cranks and chainring look way later though the pedals look like 60's alloy quills. Obviously the aero brake levers are much later too, and that stem looks like an 80's/90's job.